NDIS Framework Explained

1. The support framework

The NDIS Outcomes Framework measures both goal attainment for individuals participants, and overall performance of the scheme.

There are 8 Outcome ‘Domains’ in the framework. Each of these ‘domains’ listed will help participants to think about what goals in different life areas they wish to explore and will assist planners to seek out supports in areas that already exist and to advise where further supports are required.

The 8 Outcome Domains are: 

  • 1. Daily Living
    2. Home
    3. Health and Wellbeing
    4. Lifelong Learning
  • 5. Work
    6. Social & Community Participation
    7. Relationships
    8. Choice and Control

2. NDIS Support Purpose Categories

In the NDIS payment system, supports for participants fall into 3 Support Purpose Categories, which are Core, Capital and Capacity Building.

Each one of these is further split into a mix 15 sub-categories.

3. How they fit together

This table shows how the NDIS Domains, Purpose categories and sub-categories interlace to form a large part of the framework. For more detail, click on the image to open a link to the NDIS Price Guide. The table can be found on page 5.

4. Understanding Support Item Reference Numbers

The NDIS payments system has unique numbers allocated for each support line item. Each number is allocated according to the following structure:

For example: 01_018_0104_1_1 is the Support item reference number for the NDIS line item called:

Assistance with / self-care / overnight / higher intensity. 

The reference number sequence is made up of the following parts:

Support Cat. ( 01 ) Line Item ( 018 ) Reg’n Grp. ( 0104 ) Domain ( 1 ) Support Purpose ( 1 )

Here is another example: 07_001_0106_8_3 is the Support item reference number for the NDIS line item called:

Support Connection:

The reference number sequence is made up of the following parts.

Support Cat. ( 07 ) Line Item ( 001 ) Reg’n Grp. ( 0106 ) Domain ( 8 ) Funding Type ( 3 )

There are as many support line item reference numbers as there are different types of support and it is expected that they will increase in quantity as the NDIS expands over the next year or two. A comprehensive listing of support categories and support line item reference numbers is available from the NDIS Price Guide. 

Amicus NDIS supports are charged at the price limit in the NDIS support catalogue/price guide. To see the current NDIS prices and guides, click the link below.

NDIS price guide

Instead of describing them all here it is probably more useful to look at the services Amicus is registered to deliver and supply reference numbers based on a “best-fit” comparison.

Amicus NDIS Services